Suresh Kulkarni to be new Standing Committee Chairman

By Jaspal Singh Naol

Navi Mumbai: Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) Senior Corporator Suresh Kulkarni of Ward No 68, Turbhe region is expected to be the new Standing Committee Chairman of Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation (NMMC). This will be his third time to hold this prestigious post. Earlier he was elected as the Standing Committee Chairman for the year 2014-15 and 2015-16.

Kulkarni is said to be one of the biggest trump card of Thane District former Gaurdian Minister Ganesh Naik. Even if Kulkarni is elected from one ward, but he control the entire Turbhe Node that is full of Slum, the biggest vote bank of Navi Mumbai.  His election as a Standing Committee Chairman clearly notifies that the Naik has initiated his campaign towards the General election proposed in 2019 and 2020 elections for MLA and NMMC.

It was not just one name that came in forward for Standing Committee Chairmanship post. The long time Naik’s loyalists Dr Jayaji Nath and Ashok Gawade were also amongst the expected name. However considering the forthcoming elections Kulkarni was the best choice.

Moreover during the Budget Meets of NMMC most of the Corporators had alleged that the Corporation has least focused on wards having Slums and had very little budget for slum region. With the Kulkarni becoming the Standing Committee Chairman the slum dwellers of Navi mumbai can now see a ray of hope.

The Shiv Sena Corporator Deepali Suresh Sakpal of ward no. 35 of Ghansoli Node has also register her name for the post of Standing Committee Chairman. However the Kulkarni winning the race is said to be confirm. The election for the Standing Committee Chairmanship is scheduled on 10 May 2018 at NMMC Headquarter, Belapur.

Recommended Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.